Tate House Museum

Portland, Maine

The Tate House Museum is a part of Maine’s Colonial History. Tate House was built in 1755 for Captain George Tate (1700-1794) and his family, which had recently arrived in the Colonies from Britain. Mark Sengelmann, R.A. is providing architectural insights and advice as the Chairman of Building Committee. The extent of the renovation and rehabilitation of the building includes radial sawn siding replacement, drainage remediation, and masonry restoration. The committee has also acquired two large wheels twelve feet in diameter and weighing 1,000 pounds each, that were once part of the logging history during this time period. The big wheels will be part of the exhibit for the educational tours of the Tate House Museum.

*Visit the Tate House Museum website.
*Read the May.2013 Tate House Gazette.

 

Additional Photos:

012 Tate010 Tate011 Tate005Tate009 Tate007 Tate006 Tate002 Tate

————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Winfield Children’s House – A Montessori School

Freeport, Maine (2000, 2007)

Addition to 1850’s School House with a 2.5 Acre Campus Expansion. This was a remodel of administration and classroom building, an expanded playground and new shed. This building includes Bio Detention Wild Flower Garden. The office area includes 2,000 SF and the children’s house has 2,060 SF.

*Visit the Winfield Children’s House website.

 

Additional Photos:

————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Frontier Cafe

Fort Andross Mill, Brunswick, Maine (2007)

A unique combination of restaurant and theater in Historic Fort Andross Mill, the Frontier Cafe has 85 seats; 4,815 SF. Diners and audiences flock to this location for amazing food and great entertainment while enjoying the views in the nearby river area. The venue includes ceilings that soar fifteen feet with giant windows overlooking the Androscoggin River.

*Find Frontier Cafe on Google Maps
*Visit the Frontier Cafe website.

 

Additional Photos:

 

 

————————————————————————————————————————————————-